3 Tips to Being Highly Productive When Working From Home

Richard Petrov
The Startup
Published in
5 min readFeb 7, 2020

--

Being able to work from home can help you increase productivity as an employee. Staring at the same computer, next to the same window, and being in the same environment can make your days feel like they are blending together. It’s like this feeling of being a robot, doing the same thing over and over again in the same spot with no change.

That’s not to say you can’t switch it up in your office space as well. Sometimes I use a standing desk and other times I sit on a nice comfy couch. There’s still something about being able to break up your week and avoid being in the same environment for 5 days straight.

When I’m able to work at home it feels like a reset button has been pushed. I at the least have the same level of productivity when at home, but typically it’s more. Working outside the office for that one day makes me break that monotonous cycle. The cycle where I feel like a zombie doing the same routines every morning to get ready for work, walk to my job, and sit at the same desk that I always do.

It’s still the same feeling when you are a remote employee, but being remote is even worse! If you live in a small apartment your work space will be shared with your living space. In my case it was my bedroom, and every day I would wake up and work everyday in the spot where I sleep. Doing that long…

--

--

Richard Petrov
The Startup

Senior Mobile Engineer at Papa. Writer for The Startup, Better Programming and more.