3 Unbelievably Simple Principles to Help You Overcome Setbacks as a 1-Man Consultant

I know, I know. Things happen. But we learn to move on.

Aldric Chen
The Startup

--

A working desk with a signage that says “No Bad Days”.
Photo by Ryland Dean on Unsplash

Let me be brutally honest. Setbacks are part of our daily grind.

I don’t just mean straightforward setbacks such as sales objections. There are more. How setbacks chew on our emotional state creates a longer-lasting impact than the setback per se.

I have gone through a lot of these.

Take, for instance, the following.

  • 40% of consulting engagements got canceled during the 1st year of running my own practice
  • I lost 60% of client contracts within the 1st 3 months of 2020
  • I had clients (long gone) telling me I am irrelevant

Make no mistake. Setbacks chewed on me emotionally and mentally. And then, there are small bothering things that accumulate throughout the day.

Are you encountering the same?

Sometimes, The Hurdles are Created by Our Minds.

What we think it is, is not what it is. I know this sounds philosophical. But it isn’t.

An ex-colleague from my previous 9–6 taught me this. Everyone regarded Gary as…

--

--

Aldric Chen
The Startup

24x Top Writer (as of June 2023). Serial eavesdropper. I capture interesting & uncomfortable real-life retirement / work-life stories the way they are.