3 Years of Being Self-Employed Taught Me These Valuable Lessons

What life looks like as a full-time online entrepreneur.

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup

--

Image from Anangsha’s Instagram.

A lot of my friends who are working full-time jobs often tell me, “Being your own boss is the dream!”

They’re right, and it is a dream.

It’s the dream I had all my life when I was a child growing up on a diet of books written by people from all over the world. It was the dream I had when I took up engineering, hoping some day I’d have the guts to pursue my passion for writing full-time.

But dreams have their list of pros and cons, and solopreneurship is no different.

The past 2 years and 8 months have been nothing short of a blessing, but they’ve also taught me some valuable lessons I’d never have otherwise learned. These lessons changed me as a person and made me understand what it really means to be working for yourself.

In this post, I want to talk about eight lessons I learned from the past couple years of being self-employed.

These lessons have shaped my journey immensely, and have influenced so many decisions I’ve taken. It took me several months to learn them and I’m grateful I’ve come to the stage where I can share them with you.

--

--