4 Emotional Intelligence Skills Companies Forget About

Cognitive Intelligence Is Overrated

Marco Brito
The Startup

--

Photo by Nghia Le on Unsplash

Over my youth years, I was obsessed with Cognitive Intelligence. During my last high school year, I went through a CI test that positioned me within the average people. I wanted to stand out, and I thought CI was a good beginning.

What is Emotional Intelligence? If this term is new for you, that is okay for now, because society and companies have always focused on CI. Unlike CI, EI puts its attention on how individuals manage their emotions, mainly when life gets tougher than it already is.

I learned about EI a couple of years ago in a book called “Emotional Intelligence” written by Daniel Goleman. I never have heard of EI until that time, but it totally changed my perspective on personal development, forever. I contrasted it with what I learned in the company I worked in those years. In that company, I was part of a leadership development program which I believed would take me to the next level in my professional career. The program was full of methods, procedures, techniques, but all of them focused on the outside.

On my search for high personal performance, I put all my efforts to understand CI and how it was impacting my life. There was a time when I felt like always making bad decisions, hurting people I love. I…

--

--

Marco Brito
The Startup

Passionate Engineer and Active Learner. MSc. in Engineering Management. Wild Reader. Data Science Enthusiast. www.linkedin.com/in/marco-brito-f/