4 Must-Have Requirements When Hiring Junior Software Engineers

Tired of getting turned down for junior developer jobs because you don’t have “enough experience?”

Stephen Miracle
The Startup

--

I understand. It can be tough to get a job as a junior app developer.

I have been there. I remember going through interviews and wondering, “what gives?”, “Just give me a shot.” I didn’t understand. Why couldn’t I catch a break? I studied and worked hard but couldn’t figure out why I couldn’t get my foot in the door.

Then I got my first job. I got a second job and so on. Now my role is reversed and I now am regularly in the other seat interviewing other app engineers.

Now I see the hurdles junior engineers face from the other side.

Many times, the issues are fixable.

Show Me the Passion

Without a doubt, the most important thing that I look for in junior engineers is passion. Do you really love programming or did you just pick a CS degree because you knew you could make good money? Did you attend a bootcamp because other things weren’t panning out?

I need to know that you want to be a software engineer because you are passionate about code.

--

--

Stephen Miracle
The Startup

I create cloud solutionsduring the day. I spend my nights with my beautiful wife and 5 great kids. Always tinker. https://thatmiracle.com/newsletter/