4 Mistakes You’re Probably Making as a New Writer

It’s okay, I made them too

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
The Startup

--

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash1. Thinking That The First Thing You Write Will Get Published

If you’re just starting out on this incredible writing career path, it’s a good idea to think of yourself as an intern. I like this idea because Internships are all about learning. The learning curves in any new job can feel pretty steep at the start, and writing is no exception. Luckily, there are tons of experienced writers willing to share their successes and their mistakes so that, hopefully, your path to success will be a quick one!

I’ve been in this business for over ten years now and, although I’m still learning, these are four of the main mistakes I see emerging writers make (I made most of them myself!).

1. Thinking the First Thing You Write will be Published

It might, but it probably won’t. Wait! Don’t throw it away. You will learn a lot by writing it, editing it and doing your best to perfect it. Then, if it gets rejected, just put it aside (I know you love it — you can drag it out again later) and write something else.

If it’s a novel and you’ve poured three years of your life into it then, sure, try publishing it. Just remember that only around 1% of books are actually published traditionally now.

--

--

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
The Startup

New Zealand-based essayist | @ Business Insider, Mamamia, Oh Reader, Thought Catalog, ScaryMommy and more. Say hi at https://becauseyouwrite.substack.com/