4 Months Ago, I Quit My Job to Start My Own Business. Here Are 5 Career Lessons I Have Learned So Far.

Fear is not to be feared

Nicole Linke
The Startup

--

Women sitting on a beach, next to her is a wooden sign that reads “This is my happy place”
Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

The timing couldn’t have been more wrong.

My boss has just given me a raise and reduced my working hours to 32 hours per week. Russia's war on Ukraine resulted in a massive increase in living costs. And unexplainable gut problems kept me from working efficiently for almost 2 months.

And yet, I decided it was a good idea to quit my job and start my own personal training business.

Now, 4 months later, I want to share 5 career lessons I have learned.

Hopefully, these lessons will help you make the right decision if you are still considering jumping into the unknown and becoming an entrepreneur.

Or they will help you to continue to press on and stay in the game when self-doubt and fear of failure have you thinking about searching for new job offers.

1. There is no such thing as the right time.

I have been dreaming about starting my own business for over 10 years. While I was still working in science, I evaluated the services I could provide after completing my research project.

--

--

Nicole Linke
The Startup

Ultrarunning And Kettlebell Coach | Ultrarunner | I help ultrarunners strengthen their body and mind. https://www.instagram.com/nicole.linke85/