4 Simple Ways To Get Your Manager Talking

Ray Moukaddem
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMar 5, 2020

--

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

One of the most challenging things in your career is getting a real understanding of your strengths and weaknesses. It can be powerful to identify your strength areas and lean into them. If I have learnt one thing over the years by observing amazingly talented people have a great career is that you spend just enough time to shore up your weakness, and more focus on your natural strengths or genius.

This article will help you gain awareness on where you are and areas you are doing well in and areas that might be your blind spots. A great source of this information is your manager but before launching into these conversation-starting questions. It would help if you warmed them up.

You may also be thinking that you can’t approach your manager because “They are too busy” or “I don’t want to annoy them or give them the wrong idea”. It is nice that you are selfless in these thoughts, but that has to stop. I am sure your manager is busy, but their role is also to progress your career so they will make the time for you if you ask.

To warm up your manager, use your version of the following statements.

I have been in my role for X months/years now, and I have been reflecting on my journey so far. I have set a goal to take more significant steps forward in my career this year, and I need your help.

--

--

Ray Moukaddem
The Startup

Leader | People | Innovation | Technology— Experienced people manager keen to share my thoughts and ideas on leadership, personal growth and people management.