4 Solid Reasons To Avoid Freelance Marketplaces Like Upwork

Lessons of an Ex-Top Rated Upwork Freelancer

Kurtis Pykes
The Startup

--

Photo by Bruno Kelzer on Unsplash

It’s been one year since I last used Upwork. This may come as a surprise to those who recall how I was parading my top-rated talent badge on social media, but it’s true. Over time I’ve learned there are several other ways to land freelance clients and freelance marketplaces sit right at the bottom of that hierarchy.

Email from Upwork to confirm my top-rated status; Image by Author

The top rated status meant I was amongst the top 10% of freelancers on the platform; During my time on Upwork, I completed around 130 hours of work and earned in excess of $5000. I made 15 proposals for contracts:

  • 12 were cold applications
  • 3 were from people I met offline and asked to set up the contract via Upwork.

I did not secure any of the contracts I applied for cold.

Basically, I was shooting myself in the foot. It was not necessary for me to use the platform in the first place but I did so for two reasons: 1) It offered protection against clients who may try not to pay up and 2) I thought it was the only way to build credibility as a freelancer.

--

--

Kurtis Pykes
The Startup

SaaS Content Writer | Sharing everything I learn as I build my solo business to $10M in revenue