5 Lessons I’ve Learned as a Full-Time Content Writer

#3 is key

Lauren Shroll
The Startup

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

I’ve been working in my business full-time since August 2022 and have consistently been clearing the $5–6k mark per month.

I’ve onboarded clients to the point that I’m no longer actively looking for clients (unless I hire someone), and I’ve been able to work on a bunch of exciting projects that the January version of myself could only dream of doing.

Here are the critical lessons I’ve learned in the last couple of months of working full-time as a content writer.

1. Content writing lends itself to long-term clients.

When I first started my business, I figured I would be constantly trying to balance my client workload alongside marketing my services and jumping on discovery calls. In the early days, this was more so the case, but it was less of a mad dash to get clients.

I talk more about how I got my early clients in a previous post (as an introvert with no sales background) with less heartache than I ever imagined.

--

--

Lauren Shroll
The Startup

Ax-throwing cake decorator turned tech startup nerd. I write content for B2B SaaS and F&B startups. Website: camilleoutsidethebox.com