5 Mistakes That Slowly Murdered My Email Newsletter

I learned lessons the hard way.

Noman Shaikh
The Startup

--

Mistakes with email newsletter copywriter Noman Shaikh
Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

I started my email newsletter at the beginning of the year 2021. To have my very own email list, and send newsletters was a big step for me. But that didn’t work out that well.

I don’t regret my decision to start one, because It helped me grow as a writer and marketer. But I realize some mistakes that led to slow failure.

If you’re planning to start a newsletter or already running one for your personal brand, I hope you learn from my mistakes.

Here are the mistakes I made:

1. Not having a clear purpose behind the newsletter

Simon Sinek wrote a complete book about the importance of ‘why’. It is pretty important to consider, with everything and especially with your marketing activities.

I didn’t have a clear why with my newsletter. I had this small idea of improving my craft. For some reason, I feel it is way easier to send a newsletter than to publish a blog.

So I started the newsletter with nothing in mind — no objective.

No objective and no clear purpose lead me towards my second mistake.

2. Not having a proper content strategy

--

--

Noman Shaikh
The Startup

Copywriter & Marketing Consultant | Crazy about psychology and human behaviour | Web: sillycopies.com