5 Powerful Reasons to Rethink What You Do For a Living

We change. Our life changes. Our career should change accordingly.

Alberto Romero
The Startup

--

Source

The hammer was hitting the anvil so hard that the sound echoed the mountains at the other side of the valley. Ivar was picking fallen acorns when the sound caught his attention. He put the acorns in his bag and headed to the forge next to the lake.

The blacksmith was an old, bearded man with arms like logs. The epitome of a blacksmith. The hammer moved up and down in a rhythmic dance of iron and sparks. Ivar tried to talk above the unbearable pounding:

“Hello! What a nice day today, huh! I was walking next to the lake when I heard your hammer. I brought some acorns for you.”

The blacksmith frowned at Ivar but dropped the hammer. A guttural Thank you was his response. The blacksmith was a grumpy man of few words but Ivar gave it a try:

You’ve been here for some months already and I don’t know much about you. I was wondering… why did you come to this village?

The blacksmith started to feel uncomfortable. Too much talking, too little hammering. But he answered: Isn’t it obvious? I came to be your blacksmith.”

--

--