5 Steps to Create a Successful Cold Pitch or Proposal

You can’t just keep flaunting your past experience, every time. And shouting out loud won’t work, either.

Anmol Ratan Sachdeva
The Startup

--

Photo by Jason Rosewell on Unsplash

Waking up to an inbound lead is a bliss for every independent consultant or freelancer. You would agree, right?

But, attracting attention is just a battle half won. You still need to convince the prospect that this is ‘a match made in heaven’ before they shell out a contract to you.

Having worked as an independent consultant for almost three years, I realize that my biggest wins came when I was serious about the proposal.

I have always believed in the power of inbound and word-of-mouth, but one cannot deny that cold pitches and proposals are the biggest winners for the freelancing community.

In the last one year, I have written hundreds of pitches and proposals (mostly on Upwork where they are called cover letters) and I realize there is more to a proposal than just telling about yourself.

The other day, someone asked me about my approach to creating a winning proposal. So, I thought, why not share it with the world. Before I dig in deeper into the steps, let’s begin by setting the right premise.

General tips for writing a…

--

--

Anmol Ratan Sachdeva
The Startup

Marketer. Writer. Branding Enthusiast. Someone who likes sharing knowledge backed by personal experience.