5 Things Nobody Warns You About When Building an Online Empire

It’s the type of hardship you must choose to take on

Jerine Nicole
The Startup

--

Photo: Thought Catalog

Successful content creators make it look like having online side hustle(s) is easy.

I’m only now enjoying its process so I can talk about my past struggles. I started my online side hustle journey, learning how to become an online coach. But I had a hard time picking my niche because of my multiple interests.

It took about 8 months, $3000 and tons of emotional roller coasters. Since February, things are finally starting to pay off. In less than three months, I grew my Twitter following to 1k, crossed my first $500/month goal last month, and launched my first online service.

Here’s what I wished someone warned me about when building your online empire.

Your Principles Can Get in The Way of Your Side Hustle

I realize since diving into the online world is that I’m a rebel.

I don’t like being told what to do, and I like doing my own thing. Most successful entrepreneurs are telling you to niche down right away. The problem with that was that I had no idea what “industry” I wanted to talk about at the beginning.

--

--

Jerine Nicole
The Startup

Part-time nurse, part-time writer. I write stories about how I explore life to inspire others. Insights on intentional living: jerinenicole.substack.com