Think twice; write once

5 Tips to Avoid Errors and Misunderstandings When Writing for an International Audience

Question your idioms and cultural habits for clear communication

Ugur Akinci
The Startup
Published in
4 min readApr 18, 2022

--

Photo by Anna Shvets from Pexels

You’d better have a firm grip on the contemporary American slang if you are a screenwriter drafting the sequel to “Easy Rider.”

But if you are a business writer, get into the habit of writing without any local cultural references. Otherwise, you will only end up baffling your global business partners.

That’s actually how I felt when I received an email from India a few months ago that ended up with this friendly reminder:

“Please do not hesitate to revert to me if you have any further questions.”

I hesitated for a few moments before I understood what my business partner was saying since “revert to me” is a phrase used regularly in India but not in the United States.

Then I realized that I sometimes also miscommunicate in my own business by using purely American phrases or conventions.

Since that day I started to make a list of things that muddle the communication and create confusion when I’m writing for an international audience.

5 Tips

--

--

Ugur Akinci
The Startup

Award-winning Fortune 100 writer. Father. Husband. Brother. Friend. Still learning.