5 Truths I Wish I Knew When I Wasn’t Making Money Online

If you aren’t earning well from your writing, maybe you’re making the same mistakes?

Anangsha Alammyan
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMay 11, 2023

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Sometimes, the grass is greener on the other side.

In 2020, I knew I wanted to become a full-time writer. But I also had my doubts.

Will writing truly pay my bills?

What about the months I don’t feel like writing?

Will I always have to live from paycheck to paycheck?

Turns out, my fears were baseless.

Almost two years into this journey, I realize I couldn’t have asked for a better life.

I wake up at 9.30 AM but don’t touch my laptop until after lunch (about 4 PM). I use that time to cook, work out, and write or think about new ideas.

I work 2–3 hours a day, doing tasks that keep the flame of curiosity in my brain burning.

I take 5–6 vacations a year. Each is about two weeks long. Always, to a place that leaves lessons and memories galore.

I have the time, luxury, and mental peace to learn pole dancing, a skill that keeps me fit, challenges my creativity, and helps me embrace my body in all her wondrous glory.

--

--