5 Ways Corporate Life Prepared Me for Solopreneur Life

Borrow the tactics successful companies use.

Anna Burgess Yang
The Startup

--

A conference room with a desk and empty chairs in front of large windows with a cityscape in the background
Image created via Midjourney

I’m not a person who always dreamed of self-employment.

In fact, I spent 17 years in the corporate world, including five as an executive.

Do I wish I’d started a solopreneur life sooner? Sometimes. But in reality, I gained a lot of knowledge about running a business from my years in corporate.

I still had to figure out my deliverables, my messaging, and how I would acquire new clients. But borrowing concepts from the corporate world helped me to quickly adapt to a solopreneur life.

1. Review your financials

Money can be tough when you’re first starting as a solopreneur. You hope only to earn enough money to cover your living expenses. You’re thinking only about the cash coming in and going out, rather than the overall health of the business.

When I was part of an executive team, we looked at the company’s financials monthly and compared it with the budget. It was a way to assess how things were going and if we needed to make any adjustments.

In my experience, solopreneurs overlook their financials because they don’t know what they’re looking for. Your finances are likely simple and…

--

--

Anna Burgess Yang
The Startup

Freelance Writer. Operations Advice for Solopreneurs. Career pivots are fun. 🎉 https://start.annabyang.com/