5 Ways I Balance Side Hustles, a Professional Day Job, and Life

The Wonder Woman solution

Marie F. Jones
The Startup
Published in
8 min readJan 24, 2022

--

Licensed image. Shutterstock.

Are you one of those creators who works every waking hour and is on the edge of burning out? Are you pushing yourself hard, hoping that you’ll be able to have your evergreen creations support you while you sip fruity drinks on a beach in the South Pacific?

I’m too old for that crap. I work, I play, and I love my life. Here are 5 tips that work for me; I hope they can work for you, too.

I am Wonder Woman

I’m a writer and life coach, I teach a college class on leadership, and I’m the director of an academic library. I have also lived with physical pain since I was a teenager.

What does Wonder Woman have to do with this? Wonder Woman is my motivator. When imposter syndrome nibbles at the edges of my self-esteem, I stand in a superhero pose, hands on my hips and feet planted, and tell myself “I am Wonder Woman.” Yeah, it’s cheesy, but it banishes those feelings of insufficiency that slow down my progress.

You see, the key to balancing multiple roles is the ability to be efficient in each work role, and making downtime as relaxing and refreshing as possible.

Dips in my self-esteem slow me down. I question every decision, undervalue my…

--

--

Marie F. Jones
The Startup

Librarian-turned-Business Professor. Curious human. Random thoughts, leadership, photos, memoir, books. messydeskconsulting.com