5 Ways To Be A More Inclusive Professional

Leslie Crews
The Startup
Published in
6 min readSep 1, 2019

--

Photo by rawpixel.com from Pexels

A manager once told me that they didn’t care if their employees were happy. If their employees weren’t happy, they were encouraged to leave. Now, this is true. If a person is unhappy, free-will allows them to make a life and career change. But it seems that companies everywhere are forgetting that people are their greatest asset, not their product, and not the revenue. Businesses do not run effectively without people. Study’s show that when people enjoy going to work they are more likely to produce quality material, work longer hours, and stay loyal to the company. I’m not a business analyst, I’m just someone who’s seen behind the curtains, and tries to bring positive energy into every space I enter, but this seems like a simple concept to me. After countless conversations with friends and strangers in elevators, I’ve gathered that everyone is miserable at work. First, it made me immensely sad. Then, it made me wonder why so many people are unhappy in the work force, and what could change this narrative.

Life is already hard. Going to work every day for hours of our lives should not negatively affect one’s mental health. Sure, jobs come with inherent stress that can’t be avoided. The anxiety of holding someone’s heart in my hands or cutting someones cuticles without nipping them, is anxiety that I never want to experience. This is why I’m not a cardiac surgeon or a nail…

--

--