50 Things I’ve Learned Working With a Virtual Assistant for 15 Months

I started with zero experience

Scott Stockdale
The Startup

--

man writing on paper in front of dslr camera
Photo by Brad Neathery on Unsplash

I outsourced to a virtual assistant (VA) in April 2020. Her name’s Lou and I pay her to produce podcasts, email guests, and complete other tasks. We’ve been working together ever since.

She easily saves me 10 hours a week, and we spend less than one hour a week communicating.

Best of all? Because she lives in Vietnam, I wake up to an email detailing the tasks she’s done. I’m effectively working in my sleep!

I know it can seem intimidating. I started with zero experience, and I learned how to outsource through YouTube videos. For this reason, I know the process better than most. I’ve lived it.

Here are 50 things I’ve learned from outsourcing tasks to someone on the other side of the world.

50 Things I’ve Learned Working With a Virtual Assistant for 15 Months

  1. Don’t rush into hiring. I spent four weeks getting systems in place before posting a job. If you’ve spent years without an assistant, you can wait another month.
  2. Start with the end in mind. Why do you want to outsource? How will you use the extra time?
  3. Complete and document

--

--