6 months with GoLang after many years with PHP

Dan Gurgui
Efesent Solutions
Published in
5 min readDec 29, 2019

--

I discovered PHP when I was 16 years old. It was the first language that I used for real programming. Back then I was using it to evaluate forms submitted by users and send an email, mostly “contact us” forms. Over the years I always kept PHP as my strength and I always made sure that I’m constantly expanding my PHP knowledge and skills. I don’t think I’m a master in PHP, but it’s the language I know best. In the past, I had the chance to work with Ruby, JAVA, Python, and NodeJS for small or medium projects. These experiences allowed me to see how PHP compares to other programming languages, leverage its strengths better and guard against its weaknesses.

6 Months ago I joined MessageBird as an Engineer. I applied for PHP, but little did I know that after onboarding I will start working with GoLang step away from PHP completely. It’s been an amazing experience, I learned a new programming language during this time and now I’m going back to PHP, taking with me 6 months of experience programming in GO.

Credits to PXFuel

GO is a powerful programming language with a unique combination of features. I am sorry for not giving it more time. I’m returning to PHP for reasons not related to the programming language, but, I do want to sum up this experience and share a comparison of the two.

Static vs Dynamic

--

--