6 steps to becoming a self-motivated individual

Meena Balasubramaniam
The Startup
Published in
4 min readOct 15, 2019

In 2017, I embarked on a humble journey of self-improvement. I have always been a generally positive person, but when I took a moment to reflect on my life, I noticed I was unfulfilled at work, I had unhealthy eating habits, and my level of energy made me feel about 10 years older than I actually was.

I wasn’t sure exactly where to begin or what I wanted at the “end”, but I knew I wanted to start with some small changes I could put into everyday life. I experimented with different processes until I learned more about how I operate in terms of self-motivation and self-discipline.

I have outlined the steps below that ended up working for me. I won’t say I know all the answers. I will say, I applied these action items to my life and it was amazing. In the course of a year I completed an educational boot camp, channeled my skills and interests towards a new career path, landed a more specialized job, received a substantial raise, signed the lease on my dream apartment, got into the best shape of my life, traveled, and built relationships with friends all over the world. Alongside, I felt more energized than ever before and truly believed in myself.

My journey is far from over, but I have found the discipline to keep the momentum going. The struggle is real, but it is so worth it!

Knowing yourself is the first step in learning how to improve. Everyone operates differently so the only way to find a method that works for you is to know yourself, customize, and readjust once you have made some progress. You can be tough on yourself, push yourself to new levels, but you must counter that with self-compassion. If you don’t have your own back, you will be more likely to break down or give up during the hard times.

Step 1: Go into this journey with an open mind. Do a self-scan. How is your mood and current physical health? What has been bothering you lately and what are you most worried about? What are your biggest dreams? Fears? Distractions? Vices? Jot these down or record yourself speaking. This is an important step because people are often too busy in daily life to think about these items explicitly.

Step 2: Look at or listen to your self-scan about what is bothering you/worrying you. Addressing these items early will clear your mind for the rest of the work that is in store. This is where you Marie Kondo your
mind and de-clutter your stress. It might be completing household chores and meditating before starting anything else. It might be calling a loved one to resolve an issue, before you can focus on your finances. Whatever it is, chipping away at stressors first will help you find peace to move forward with the rest.

Step 3: Balance is important. Identify your areas of focus. Common areas of focus include: Career, Diet, Education, Exercise, Finance, Hobby/Passion, Relationships, Self-Care, Spirituality. But these could vary. Everybody is different! What parts of your life in those areas you would like to maintain or improve? Drill down and get specific. Taking notes helps for referencing.

Step 4: Plan your next week out so you have time to put a sprinkle of each area of focus into it. Be realistic about prior commitments and needed downtime. Set small achievable goals. There is something about checking off a to-do list — even if the items seem trivial — that keeps you moving forward. Break the goals down to your current level of motivation. Feeling really motivated? The items could be like epics: clean the house, meal prep. Not so motivated? Break the epics down into smaller tasks: unload dishwasher, wash dishes in sink, put laundry away, sweep the floors, wipe the countertops, make the bed, go to store, buy items on shopping list, make meal 1, make meal 2, etc. so you can check off things more often. As long as you keep making incremental steps, progress will happen.

Step 5: Find a purpose that drives you. This can shift from week to week or month to month, but you should have a little excitement when you wake up in the morning! Is it furthering your career? Making a new recipe? Is it spending time with your family? Is it a hobby you are really passionate about? A good book? Whatever it is, make sure it will find its way into your week along with the rest.

Step 6: Visualize this plan. Write it down somewhere or use helpful digital life planning tools, like the Intention App! You will need a reference point so you can check in each morning. See if you are ready for the activities in the
day ahead and reflect on your actions from the day before. There is always room for tweaks and adjustments once you have a better grasp on how you operate.

Intention App Logo

Remember, the journey is long and progress is not always apparent. It is important to keep your head down and complete the little things even if they seem annoying or pointless at the time. Reassess steps 1–3 once a month and steps 4–6 every week. Months down the road, you will be shocked at how all the little things add up to self-improvement. Go you!

--

--

Meena Balasubramaniam
The Startup

Product Designer | Lover of puns, puppies, pilsners (all beer, really) & alliteration