7 Reasons Why You Should Quit Your Job for a Career In Web Development

holly bourneville
The Startup
Published in
6 min readJun 24, 2019

--

Photo by Tim Gouw on Unsplash

I did it, should you?

Over a year ago, I decided to change my career from working in sales/support/admin roles to becoming a Front End Web Developer.

It seemed crazy at the time because I barely even knew what web development was 6 months beforehand. It was only once my partner changed his career to web development and started working for an amazing company that I started to realise that I could do the same thing too.

The decision to leave work and study full time wasn’t an easy one. I was 30 years old, wanting to buy a house and I felt like my career should have been well and truly flourishing by this point. I kept going over a list of pros and cons in my head and eventually, the long list of pros won out.

Here are the main reasons why I decided to become a Web Developer and my experiences since landing my first job in the industry.

Flexibility

Flexibility was a major one for me. I dreamed of one day having a job where I could work at home or have flexible hours.

Because I absolutely hate being late — I was often up to 30 minutes early to work (Auckland traffic is soo unpredictable!) and would generally start my day whenever I arrived. However, I would never ever be…

--

--

holly bourneville
The Startup

Hi Im Holly! I’m from New Zealand. I’m in my first job as a Front End Web Developer and want to share my learnings and thoughts along the way!