7 Rules for Realistic To-Do Lists That Keep You Motivated

It took me 10 years to realize what I’ve been doing wrong.

Nina Greimel
The Startup

--

Photo by Liza Summer on Pexels

Did you ever feel frustrated and unproductive, because you didn’t complete all the tasks you wanted in a day?

Your To-Do lists grow longer and longer, even though you’re working your a** off?

It’s not your work ethic you’ve to worry about. Most probably you’re just doing To-Do lists the wrong way.

I had the same problem when I started being self-employed. Hundreds of tasks would come into my mind and I would write them down, without any realistic chance of managing them all.

I always felt lazy because I never completed the tasks I planned to. I skipped breaks and worked until 11 pm, just to be able to start with a blank sheet of paper the next day.

At some point, I decided to take a closer look at my task-planning process. I wanted to see where I was losing time and restructured my To-Do lists.

The effect was immediate! From that day on, I not only finished nearly everything I was planning but also felt more motivated and reassured too.

Here are the seven rules that helped me to improve my task-planning process. I’m sure some of them can do the trick for you too.

--

--

Nina Greimel
The Startup

I help solopreneurs build trusted brands that attract customers | PR & social agency founder | 👉 Free Branding Tips: www.solobrandeur.com