7 Signs of a Toxic Work Environment

Is it just a bad day or a toxic work environment?

Katy.C
The Startup

--

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

I recently left a toxic work environment. Although at the time I did not realize how toxic it was. I was unhappy at work. I thought I was unhappy because I did not fit in and did not enjoy the work. Both of these were true.

However, the work environment was also toxic. It allowed for no room to grow or career development. A toxic work environment creates an unhappy workforce. No one wants to work in a toxic environment. People will come to work unhappy and leave work unhappy. They will be distracted by things that are not productive. They will engage in workplace gossip and backstabbing. A toxic work environment will not inspire productivity and creativity. It will create the opposite. Although I am no expert, these are the signs I noticed.

1. Your employer threatens your job

Your boss should never threaten to fire you as a tactic to motivate you. It is a terrible tactic and will only cause stress and anxiety. They should never say things like, “We may have to pull the plug,” or “I don’t know what is going to happen if you don’t meet your target” or “ We don’t have bench warmers here.”

These tactics never work. It does not inspire you to work harder and faster and produce more…

--

--

Katy.C
The Startup

Lawyer by day, writer by night. Healing my heart word by word. I write about traumatic breakups, heartbreak and dating