8 Proven Steps to Recover From Heartbreak

Guys, these science-backed ways will help you move on

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
The Startup

--

A number of my guy friends have had their hearts broken recently.

Listening to them, all I can think is: DAMN heartbreak hurts! I’m glad most of today’s men know that it’s acceptable to cry. Everyone needs to be allowed to have a good cry and talk it out with their mates.

Now, I’ve had my heart broken but I’m not a man so I can’t speak from that perspective, but psychologist, Dr. Guy Winch is and can. Winch is an expert on healing after heartbreak.

I’ve put in a link to his TED Talk down the bottom of this article. If you’ve had your heart broken recently, I’d highly recommend watching the full 12 minutes. I’ve also summed up his main points here for you if you’d rather read them.

Getting over heart break is not a journey, it’s a fight! — Guy Winch

Here are some of his tips on how to deal with a break up:

1. Understand that love is like addiction

Recent neuroscience studies have revealed interesting facts about love and addiction. Our brains respond after a break up in the same way that a drug addicts’ brains responds in withdrawal…

--

--

Kelly Eden | Essayist | Writing Coach
The Startup

New Zealand-based essayist | @ Business Insider, Mamamia, Oh Reader, Thought Catalog, ScaryMommy and more. Say hi at https://becauseyouwrite.substack.com/