docker | reasons | programming | OS independent | immutable

8 Reasons Why Every Developer Should Use Docker — And You Won’t Believe #5!

Are you running the software you write on your dev machine? Are you installing all the dependencies for every project?

DrPsychick
The Startup
Published in
11 min readJun 23, 2020

--

Photo by Pakata Goh on Unsplash

If you’re looking for basic info about docker, maybe this article helps: https://medium.com/swlh/what-exactly-is-docker-1dd62e1fde38

To Give You A Little Background

Am I a developer? Well, in my professional life not anymore, but in my private life I am passionate about anything that helps me learn and grow. So I spend a substantial amount of my free time to play with Docker, k8s and automate the things in my “Home Office”.

I’ve been in IT for ~20 years now and I started with PHP development and ugly things like editing code live on the production machine with vim. Back in the days, there was no Docker and when you wanted to test your code on your local machine, you’d had to install the database and all the required libraries directly on your machine. Of course this works, and this still works today and probably many people still do it. The downside is, that you are bound to the environment of your…

--

--

DrPsychick
The Startup

individual curious human ✍️ writes about life lessons and IT topics 💡 learning every day 👩‍💻 works as catalyst in startups https://bit.ly/3hz7abR