9 Things I’ve Learned Writing Phishing Emails

Craig Hays
The Startup
Published in
8 min readDec 6, 2019

--

For the past six months, I’ve been writing and sending phishing emails to thousands of innocent people and analysing the results. This is what I’ve learned.

(Disclaimer: This is for educational and authorised testing purposes only. Please don’t break the law, it isn’t nice.)

My victims have no idea who I am, why I would want to steal their login credentials, or what I could do with them. They are trusting, hardworking people who just want to do a good job and go home to take care of their families.

Fortunately, I’m not a criminal. The emails I send are authorised phishing simulation tests. They’re designed to test our employees and their responses to various scenarios presented to them in email form.

Phishing Simulation and Awareness Training

With phishing simulation, we can measure how susceptible people are to real attacks, provide just-in-time training to those who take the bait, and measure the effectiveness of our overall training strategy. No amount of phishing awareness training is ever going to be 100% effective but if we can raise the level of caution even slightly we’re in a better place than before. No matter what we do, people will always be phished. Even me, even you.

--

--

Craig Hays
The Startup

FinTech startup to £105 million acquisition. Now I make stuff and help people with cyber security. https://craighays.com