A 5-Step Proven Process to Ease into Freelancing with Zero Experience

A guide for people who stumbled into the writing world.

Jerine Nicole
The Startup

--

Photo: Liza Summer

At the beginning of this year, I pledged to step out of my comfort zone all year long.

I started writing on this platform back in November 2020. My background is in nursing, so I don’t have any prior experience besides theory essays. I say this because I want to let you know that most people start their freelancing journey knowing they wanted to become a writer.

If you’re like me, who’s just going with the flow of the writing or the freelancing world, then this is a guide for you.

I landed my first project of $250 for one article in less than seven months without signing up for Fiverr or Upwork nor without any prior experience.

Here’s how I did it.

Step 1: Pick a Skill That You like

I’ve been picking skills since I was young.

I taught myself how to make simple HTML websites, play guitar, speak Spanish, code, bake, and design. After six months to a year, I’d get tired of them. I learned the basics, and then I moved on to the next challenge.

--

--

Jerine Nicole
The Startup

Part-time nurse, part-time writer. I write stories about how I explore life to inspire others. Insights on intentional living: jerinenicole.substack.com