A Cheap Laser Engraver

Laser Crafts for a Nerd-brain

Gant Laborde
The Startup
4 min readDec 28, 2018

--

I hate surgery šŸ˜· ā€” Stick with me here: when I found out I had to have a small surgery, I searched for interesting things I could do while recovering and found a laser etcher. Not a ā€œstart your own business in the shedā€ etcher, but a small, affordable crafty laser etcher that hooks up to a computer. At some point in my drugged up recovery, I hit the purchase button, and Iā€™m glad I did.

New one: https://amzn.to/3wl7oJH

This little Laser Box showed up, and I knew it was one of those things. It would either ā€œforever live in its original containerā€ or Iā€™d be that guy who starts engraving everything. I made sure it was the latter.

I hooked it up and though I had no clue what I was doing, it wasnā€™t hard to figure out the basics. Itā€™s basically a 2D printer with a powerful laser attached. And I had the World Wide Web to play with!

I promised myself Iā€™d do at least one etch every day. Half the fun was finding something interesting to work with, the other was finding what I wanted to etch on. Hereā€™s a sample of creations, each item taking 3 to 10 minutes.

So if you see me at a conference repping Infinite Red, hopefully, Iā€™ll have my new business cards on me. I can really only fit one in my wallet šŸ¤£

After some practice and quite a few mistakes, I felt confident enough to start etching on more expensive items for holiday presents.

Itā€™s quite addictive, and dare I say, much easier than any 3D printer. It also costs nothing but electricity and putting up with a burning smell.

What I learned

As a person who enjoys creating, I really got a kick out of adding to my mad scientist lab in a physical way. My big takeaways:

Practicality

  • Always focus your laser
  • You canā€™t print on a curved surface ā€”stop trying
  • Knowing a little photoshop goes a long way in image prep
  • Ventilate well ā˜
  • Anything Wood/Plastic/Leather/Paper is game
  • The hardest part is framing/positioning your target
  • Get a curved flashlight to check on your progress behind the laser screen

Inverse printing

You can also use painters tape to create a safe surface for staining or in this case, applying a little gold leaf!

BONUS: The peeled off part was like a free blue sticker. I immediately put it in my notebook and it looked cool! But I should have put it on anothe piece of wood for staining. Iā€™ll try that soon šŸ‘

If youā€™re familiar with gold-leaf you know that even if the adhesive is carefully placed, wood has a bad habit of getting pieces stuck in grain, but not this time!

I even sealed the design with the tape still on. It worked like a charm. Now I just need to think of what Iā€™m going to fancy up!

Impracticality

Finally, the best part of this whole thing is the impracticality of it. Or what the kids might call ā€œfunā€.

Iā€™ve shipped gifts, crazy doubloons, and customized jokes to friends around the country. Remember that surgery thing at the top of the article? I donā€™t. Iā€™m thinking of what to etch next.

Gant Laborde is Chief Technology Strategist at Infinite Red, published author, adjunct professor, worldwide public speaker, and mad scientist in training. Clap/follow/tweet or visit him at a conference.

This story is published in The Startup, Mediumā€™s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by +404,714 people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Gant Laborde
The Startup

Software Consultant, Adjunct Professor, Published Author, Award Winning Speaker, Mentor, Organizer and Immature Nerd :D ā€” Lately full of React Native Tech