Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

A Few More Do’s and Don’ts of Blogging

Sandra Ebejer
The Startup
8 min readJan 10, 2019

--

Back in August, when I was just a wee writer, I published a piece on the do’s and don’ts of blogging.

Surprisingly, given my general lack of experience*, the post has done well and continues to rack up claps and fans.

(*First side tip: Write like you know what you’re talking about, and people will buy into it.)

I’m now seven months into my professional writing journey. I’m older, wiser, more seasoned, and I feel I can offer additional advice. After all, I have to live up to my Top Writer in Advice** title.

(**Second side tip: Use the same tag often enough and Medium may decide you’re an expert in that area, even if you clearly have no business telling others what to do.)

So, let’s get to it.

When crafting your pieces…

DO: Write Authentically

You’ve probably read the best way to gain followers/experience/accolades is to write and publish every single day, without fail. Some might even say to publish multiple times a day. And…

--

--

Sandra Ebejer
The Startup

Entertainment & lifestyle journalist. Pub in The Cut, Shondaland, Next Avenue, and more / sandraebejer.com / Twitter: @sebejer