A Goodbye to Golden Muzzles: Internal Dissent and the Cautionary Tale of Facebook

Raman Frey
The Startup
Published in
16 min readJul 8, 2020

--

Okay friends, this one is the most “businessy” piece I’ve written in a long time. If you have no interest in startups, technology, or the advantages of internal dissent, no need to read further.

If you’re looking for the TLDR, you can scroll down to the bullet points at the bottom.

Image courtesy of Olivier Piquer

Where I Write From

Most of my journalist friends have a “beat” an area they specialize in and write about. They don’t stray too far from their subject. This allows them to develop critical expertise and a loyal audience. Writers who work in business, government or the non-profit sectors tend to narrow their scope as well, and have agreements with talented editors to help them cultivate domain expertise, a consistent and reliable voice in A.I. or effective altruism or medical research or what have you.

I am not a journalist. In another era, someone might have called me an essayist, which feels about right.

--

--