A Handwriting Keyboard Can Help You to Stay Creative

The middle ground between technology and handwriting.

Challa Fletcher-Harris
The Startup

--

PPeople spend a lot of time at the keyboard — work, school, internet activities, etc. We also spend a lot of time texting and posting to social media on our cellphone. At the end of the day, we have logged hundreds of thousands of keystrokes.

When I need to sit down to write, be it for a platform or a book, I am discouraged at the idea of sitting before another keyboard. Be it the on-screen keyboard of my cellphone or tablet, my laptop, or my wireless keyboard, I don’t want to type anymore. When I do groan through and power up one of these tools my mind draws a blank. I call this “screen burnout;” that moment in the day when my brain can not handle sitting before a computer any longer.

The solution to this would be to begin writing in longhand. Pencil and paper remain my favorite writing tools. Overall creativity improves when using longhand writing. Many scientific experiments have been done in the study of the effects of writing by hand versus using a keyboard. It has been proven that different and more parts of the brain are used when writing. This form improves memory and enhances focus. In a TEDx Talk, Masterpenman Jake Widemann explains more about the benefits of writing by hand. You can watch his talk here on…

--

--