A Lifestyle Business Leaves the Idea of a Traditional Startup for Dead

Become a creator and build a lifestyle, not a startup. Here’s why.

Tim Denning
The Startup
Published in
7 min readApr 5, 2021

--

Photo by NeonBrand on Unsplash

A startup is a nightmare. There, I said it.

I’ve failed at seven startups and had one successful one. You know what startups did to me? They left me with a giant hole in my head called mental illness. Startup life is the worst life. Thankfully, you don’t need to be a startup founder wearing a t-shirt and buying ping pong tables to impress employees.

Startups are so 2010.

There is a new approach and every one of you reading this can do it. Enter: Andrea Bosoni. We’ve never met, but he broke Twitter with this idea:

I’d much rather have a lifestyle business that makes $10k/month and lets me live my life on my own terms vs a startup that makes $100k/month and requires all of my attention.

Normies like me with backpacks started worshiping Andrea’s advice, as if he’d been named the next holy Dalai Lama. Here’s why you want to start a lifestyle business rather than a startup.

Employees Are a Pain in the Buttocks

--

--

Tim Denning
The Startup

Aussie Blogger with 1B+ views that made me 7-figures — Get my free email course: https://timdenning.com/1k-mb