A New Idea is Seeping Into the Mainframe. It’s Called the One-Person Business Model.

And here’s why you need to know about it

Eve Arnold
The Startup

--

Photo by Lucas Sankey on Unsplash

When I worked in the corporate world, almost nobody talked about career happiness. The ‘promotion conversation’ almost exclusively focused on two things:

  • Money
  • Status

I’ll admit that’s all I thought about too. Because that’s what everybody else talked about, I thought it was the norm to focus there. The idea that there was anything else to consider did hit my radar until much later.

But now, there is an idea bubbling away and it’s going to explode over the next 10 years and I cannot wait for a new wave of conversation to take over.

The one-person business model

For a long time, there was a gap. Either you work for the corporate machine or you have to work for yourself, employ a load of people and have a management headache.

But there has been a new conversation bubbling.

Since the release of Paul Jarvis’s Company of One people have been, well, liberated by this idea of an in-between. In between the corporate 9–5 and the life of an entrepreneur.

--

--

Eve Arnold
The Startup

Every Sunday I send one lesson to 15,000 part-time creators to help them build their business alongside their 9-to-5. Join free → www.theparttimecreatorclub.com