A Simple Guide to Decluttering

How to get rid of the clutter for good.

Dave Tan
The Startup

--

Do you love mess(Marie Kondo does)? I certainly don’t.

Ever find yourself with a disorganised wardrobe where you just chuck tons of clothing inside yet have nothing to wear in the morning? How about that huge pile of mess lying around your house?

The steps below are what I took to declutter and organise my living space.

I stop buying crap I do not need in my life.

If you want your home to stop looking as though burglars just ransacked it, you have to take measures and figure out the root cause of the problem.

The less stuff you have, the less stuff you need to organise and tidy up.

This seems like a no-brainer, but people just love to buy and collect stuff and more stuff, sometimes to the point of excess. I think it is a matter of habit. It is to actively choose not to have online splurges as a form of reward, or resisting buying stuff during a major sale.

The key is to be honest with yourself, and stop buying the stuff you do not need in your life.

I make sure flat surfaces are…

--

--

Dave Tan
The Startup

Minimalist. Cook. Always searching for chicken hearts in izakayas.