A Song on Javascript?

The Dark Boffin
The Startup
Published in
2 min readAug 12, 2020

Yes. I questioned myself once; for all the things people write a song about, why not one on javascript which has filled most of our lives?

I have been a programmer for 7 years, and I have been writing Javascript applications for web, mobile, native, and servers for a while. The reason I admire Javascript the most is its ubiquity. When it occurred to me to write a song on Javascript, without any further ado, I started.

When I decided I’m going to write a song on Javascript, I also wanted to make my own music for it. It took its time to write down the lyrics, and a longer time to do the composition. With a friend who’s really good at music, I had my song ready by 2 months. Now, what about video? I thought some crazy dance moves can help people smile. But, a crazier thought grazed my mind. What about a Javascript canvas animation for a Javascript song? Perfect. I wrote a javascript canvas animation that is available on Github. I was really excited to release it on youtube, and put our fellow programmers to euphoria.

I received really good feedback. The lyric of the song was appreciated to be well thought of. Is everything going well? Not very much. Youtube’s algorithm decided not to outreach my song to the intended audience. The number of views slowly started to die, and so did my excitement. Maybe Youtube isn’t the place for quality esoteric content. It sadly killed my enthusiasm to write more songs on Computer science. But well, I did my part and am quite happy that whoever watched the video, had a pleasant experience. Maybe it’ll be searched for someday by some javascript enthusiast, and helps put a smile on his face :)

If you’re curious about how it sounds, here’s the song (watch it in HD, with captions on) :

Thanks :)

--

--