Valuable Lessons from the Guy Who Sold His NFT for $69 Million

How Beeple can teach us not to rush in our creative pursuits and how overnight success stories never are what they seem

Shreya Badonia 🧨
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMay 23, 2021

--

The first time I heard about NFTs (Non-fungible tokens), I thought it was another bubble, and people will forget about it in a day or two.

But I was wrong.

When I fully understood its concept and how it helped artists monetize their art, I was hooked. A few days later, I heard the news about how an artist managed to sell his art for $69 million.

Many weren’t happy about the fact and called it insane. The artist that sold that painting was Michael Winkelman (known professionally as Beeple), and the painting was “Everydays — The First 5000 Days.”

Some called him an overnight success but is that true?

Story of Beeple

In an interview with Chris Do from the Futur, Beeple mentioned that he’s been drawing for 14 years. He’s made a habit of producing one piece of art every day ever since he got into art.

The fun fact here is he had been doing it while working on commissioned work, a healthy marriage, and raising kids.

--

--

Shreya Badonia 🧨
The Startup

Multi-passionate creator | visual thinker living an island life 🏝️ Join my weekly newsletter 📣 https://shreyasls.substack.com/