Actually Useful iPad Apps

Productivity apps for a non-productivity device

Joseph Mavericks
The Startup

--

Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

The iPad is the perfect “non-productivity” productivity item. You buy it because you think it’s going to make you more efficient, and you end up using it to read the news on the couch at night, or Facetime the family on the weekends. Way to make it worth the expense, right?

As an iPad owner myself, I have to admit I’ve been tricked too in the past. I used to have an old one that was given to me, but I eventually had to upgrade because the iOS version running on it couldn’t run a bunch of apps I had. This was a major downside as a Duolingo user, which was my favorite language-learning app at the time. It was also crucial I get access to it because I had just moved to a new country. I had a great excuse to upgrade.

In the beginning, I used my brand new iPad for its intended use, to learn a new language. But as I got to use it more and more, I became curious about what my favorite productivity apps would look like on the iPad. As it turned out, it wasn’t great. For most of them, I didn’t like the UX/UI, and I didn’t even see the point in using the app on another device, since I was already organizing all my stuff on my laptop with tools like:

  • Ticktick
  • Notion
  • Day One

--

--

Joseph Mavericks
The Startup

Living with a purpose and improving myself is changing my life — I also make Youtube videos: bit.ly/3QAEXTm