Afraid to speak up for yourself? Me too. Here’s the secret to doing it anyway.

Hailey Magee, Certified Coach
The Startup
Published in
5 min readMay 25, 2019

--

“When we speak, we are afraid our words will not be heard or welcomed. But when we are silent, we are still afraid. So it is better to speak.” - Audre Lorde

Have you ever felt utterly incapable of speaking your truth in a moment of confrontation or conflict? Have you ever felt as if the barrier were practically physical — that no force on earth could wrench those difficult words from your heart to mouth?

As a recovering people-pleaser, I know better than most the earth-shattering fear of speaking up. I have a distinct memory of being in my nightgown as a child, debating whether to go downstairs and risk disappointing my parents by telling them I couldn’t sleep. I tiptoed back and forth across my bedroom carpet in the dark, biting my tiny fingernails and debating my options.

As I got older, the fear of speaking up became a cage that kept me small. Unspoken truths piled up inside of me, voltage without an outlet, and my body responded accordingly. My legs grew restless. My anxiety worsened. I ground my teeth for hours each night and woke with blazing migraines.

--

--

Hailey Magee, Certified Coach
The Startup

Break the people-pleasing pattern, set empowered boundaries, and master the art of speaking your truth. www.haileymagee.com/workshops