Amcrest ProStream 1080P Webcam Review

Andrew Gobran
The Startup
Published in
5 min readAug 15, 2020

At a glance:

  • Price: $64.99 (at Amcrest) or $57.99 (at Amazon)
  • CMOS ⅓ image sensor.
  • Auto white balance adjustments allow the camera to output the best image quality in different environments.
  • 3.6mm Lens features a wide 90° viewing angle.
  • Full-HD1080p @ 30fps.
  • Built-in dual 3D noise-reducing microphone.
  • USB 2.0 Connection.
  • Supports H.264 compression, mjpeg, & YUV protocols
  • Works with Windows, Mac OS and Android etc.
  • Platform Compatibility: Skype, Youtube, Yahoo!@Messenger, MSN, Zoom, Windows Live@Messager, Gmail, Android IPTV, WeChat, etc.
  • 6 ft USB Cable.
  • Weight: 0.41lbs.

In the box:

  • 1080p Webcam (AWC2198)
  • User Manual

Initial Impressions

Right out of the box, the Amcrest ProStream 1080P Webcam is very light, yet sturdy and looks very simple. As soon as you plug it into your computer, it is automatically recognized and installs the necessary drivers. Within a minute, it’s ready to go so you won't have to deal with any complicated installation process.

Once connected, the webcam becomes available as a video output and audio input option for compatible services (of which there are many).

Personal Use-Case

I work remotely full-time so for the majority of the year my colleagues primarily see me on a screen. The average laptop camera is sufficient, but considering my use-case, I felt it’s worth investing in a better webcam to make sure that my video quality is nice and clear. It’s just a small touch that makes for a better experience.

Additionally, since I primarily work from home, I typically connect my laptop to an external monitor and then dock it. In this case, having an external webcam is incredibly convenient because I don’t have to open my laptop every time I have a meeting.

Video Quality

Most, if not all, laptops come with a webcam built it, but if you make video calls or have a desktop PC, which typically doesn’t have a webcam built-in, then a good quality webcam is a worthy investment. Webcams that are built into laptops typically aren’t the best quality. They get the job done, but they produce fairly low-quality video and can do a poor job of balancing light. Naturally, this isn’t necessarily a deal-breaker, but a good quality camera can set you apart and may even be necessary depending on your field.

HP Spectre x360 webcam (left) vs. Amcrest ProStream Webcam (right)

I was impressed by the video quality of the Amcrest ProStream 1080P Webcam. Compared to the webcam that’s built into my HP Spectre x360, this one is significantly better. I’ve been working remotely full-time for over 3 years now so my home office setup is critical for work meetings, candidate interviews, and other speaking engagements which typically all take place through video calls.

The Amcrest ProStream 1080P Webcam produces a very crisp and balanced video that is visibly higher quality than a typical laptop webcam. In fact, almost every time I use it, people ask me if I got a new webcam because they also notice a difference. In addition to the overall video quality, this webcam has an auto-white balance to improve the video quality in low-light settings.

Audio Quality

Similar to video quality, built-in laptop microphones are typically sufficient for basic use but are usually low quality. More often than not, laptop microphones are riddled with problems like poor noise isolation, echos due to speaker audio reverb, and general audio balance issues. As a result, I typically use headphones that have a built-in microphone to minimize audio issues.

The Amcrest ProStream Webcam comes with a dual microphone built-in which Amcrest advertises as having enhanced audio pick-up and an integrated 3D noise reduction algorithm that is meant to produce better quality audio.

In daily use, I found the microphone to produce better quality audio and noise isolation than my laptop’s built-in microphone. It’s not a huge improvement, but it’s definitely a step up from the typical microphone that comes built into any laptop. Despite this, I still typically use the microphone built into my earbuds, but it’s good to know that I have a reliable alternative with the webcam.

It goes without saying, but if your use-case requires studio-audio, then you should definitely invest in an external microphone that is designed specifically for this.

Considerations

Overall, I really like this webcam, there are only a couple of things I would have liked to see improved.

Distortion correction. As is often the case with wide-angle lenses, the edges of the video can be slightly distorted. It’s a minor thing and probably isn’t even that noticeable, but it would have been nice to see some corrective measures for this.

Webcam customization. This webcam doesn’t come with any sort of complimentary software that can be used to manually edit things like light and color balance. Again, this is relatively minor considering it already handles these things well, but for those who like to have a bit more control, that won't be possible in this case.

The Bottom Line

If you regularly use a webcam as part of your work or other activities then this is an excellent webcam to improve the quality of your video setup. It’s a straightforward webcam that offers consistent quality right out of the box to improve the way you virtually present yourself.

--

--

Andrew Gobran
The Startup

Coptic Orthodox. Caring for others as a People (Ops) Person @doist. Sometimes I write consumer tech reviews. 2 Cor 12:9.