An introduction to UX Design with user interview, storyboard & sketching

Ava Avval
The Startup
Published in
5 min readJan 29, 2018

This article is divided into 3 parts: The User Interview, The Process & The Reflections.

The User Interview:

Scott and my notes during the interview

I have the pleasure to work with Scott and got to know a little bit of him. My first get-to-know him question is” What do you usually do on the weekend? “

It turns out that Scott does not have concrete plans over weekend and usually will just go with the flow (aka spouse’s idea). As a result, he might not have time to do things he enjoys.

— —

A little bit of verbatim:

Ava: Have you guys tried to mark activities in the calendar?

Scott: Yea we did it on google calendar for a couple events.

Ava: so what happened to those events?

Scott: But you know, something happened and we have to change our plans and then didn’t really do what as planned….

— —

With that in mind, I have decided to design a calendar app which encourages couples to make plans for weekends, and motivate them to stick with the plan. That way, I hope couple can better plan their time during weekend, and everyone get to do what they enjoy.

I know the goal has been achieved if user uses the calendar feature and check in to earn points.

The Process

Overview of the process

Day 1: user interview, competitive analysis and comparative analysis

During lunch with Scott, I started with the question” What do you usually do on the weekend? “ and he told me about the way he and his wife spend time over the weekend. When I sensed frustration in his voice, I will ask him” why”? Or “ how does that happen” to get more information.

Once I had an idea on a calendar app that motivates targeting couple, I have research on apps in different categories: productivity, relationships and motivation.

Competitive Analysis: Google Calendar, Timepage

Left: Google Calendar, Right: Moleskine Timepage App- both have clear layout. Timepage think in advance for the user and show user important and relevent information of transportation, map and weather

Comparative Analysis: Wonderful day, fitbit, duolingo, sweatcoin, Strava, meetup, Foursquare

Motivation apps all show clear progress that can be compared to the set goal (left: wonderful day, right: fitbit)
Sweatcoin shows a clear and achievable point reward system

I have incorporated all these learning into the consideration for the feature of the app.

My calendar will be able to provide weather, distance and points information to the users. The check in points user earned will be something meaningful to them like gift card communicated in a clear manner.

Day 2: Storyboard, another 5- mins with the user to learn more about their lifestyle through the lens of his phone app and 1st draft sketch for usability testing (5-min review with 6 users)

With the 5-mins looking at Scott’s apps on his phone, I have learned more about his lifestyle. He is very interested in sports and entertainment. That got us into a conversation of maybe adding some competitiveness feature in the app, probably with other couples down the road.

Storyboard as shown

From left to right: Current siutation, what the app can do, happy ending. I was thinking of what would happen to the couple on Friday night and set the scene of the storyboard.

Sketching:

Overview of the app

1.Mainpage showing a calendar and how you can add a new activity

2.The second tap allows you to check in at the location

3.You can also view your progress and how far you are free the next reward, which is important to motivate users.

4.I have also include a reward page so users can have a clear sense of the goals.

5.Idea page for users to get some ideas of what’s happening in different neighborhood.

User feedback from 6 users:

Usability testing with Melissa and Genebie
  • Most were able to compete the core tasks, including adding new activities to the calender, check-in at the location, check your progress and the redemption procedure.
  • There are some practical comments include making the check-in button looks like a button
  • Most users find the “customize your calendar” concept confusing and would very much prefer a Google calendar type of interface

Day 3: Revision on the sketches and prepare for presentation

  • Presentation preparation forces me into thinking back to the users’ need, and how my solution can help the user.

Reflection:

As a first time UX designer, what I found most exciting is the collaborative nature of UX. There’s no one way of handling something or looking at something, and that is perfectly fine. This project provides me with the opportunity to apply the principles in the 1st diamond- Discover and Define to an actual user project.

What I would do differently in the future:

  • For my storyboard, I will learn how to capture the emotion and the facial expression better in my storyboard. Practice makes perfect!
  • For the user interview & usability testing, I will have to ask more “WHY”. As a UX designer, I need to get to the core of the questions and asking Why can get me closer to that.

If this project continues, I would like to do more research on motivation and how app can successfully draw users to come back all the time.

This story is published in The Startup, Medium’s largest entrepreneurship publication followed by 290,182+ people.

Subscribe to receive our top stories here.

--

--

Ava Avval
The Startup

UX design professional with solid background in brand marketing and have a profound interest in brand communication.