An Ode To Training

Zsófia Vera
The Startup
Published in
6 min readDec 12, 2019

--

Work your mind as you work your body

Photo by Edgar Chaparro on Unsplash

I was prepping my equipment to record a little riff on the whole notion of presence yesterday when a huge pain hit me in my right thigh.

The excruciating pain of a muscle cramp. Perhaps even a tearing.

Pain is Presence

I was forced to lie down as I absorbed the magnitude of an all encompassing, strident pain.

Sprawled out on my bed and wailing uncontrollably, I proceeded to doing the recommended breathing exercises I’d learnt to perform when dealing with minor panic attacks.

In the midst of it all, I actually started laughing.

Perhaps as a method to dilute the pain with some positive energy, I naturally proceeded to palliate the pain with my own natural reserve of endorphins.

In that moment, it hit me that pain is indeed absolute presence.

It’s that inescapable moment when the loudness of the injury calls for your immediate attention. There’s a beautiful simplicity in that. No going around it, no postponing it, the pain truly calls us to drop everything and tend to it, now.

Imagine if everything that required our attention in life could call for it so powerfully. We’d be on top of our taxes, finances, businesses, errands and…

--

--

Zsófia Vera
The Startup

I bleed creativity. Writing about : film, music, healing, love, creative processes, obsession and identity. hello@zsofiavera.com