Angular 11 in Depth

Sébastien Dubois
The Startup
Published in
18 min readNov 15, 2020

--

NEWS: I’ve just published my in-depth article about Angular 12: https://dsebastien.medium.com/angular-12-in-depth-7741e759c72

Angular 11 has just been released. Time to discover what’s new!

In this article, I’ll go over (almost) everything noteworthy in this brand new release. I’ll also highlight what’s changed around Angular, just like I did with my Angular 10 in depth article.

If you want a helicopter view of what’s new, then check out the official Angular blog. Here, I’ll try to dig much deeper into the release notes.

As a reminder, the Angular team tries to release two major versions per year; so Angular 12 should arrive early next year.

If you’re missed the previous article about Angular 10, then go check it out too.

Operation “byelog” progress

As I’ve mentioned a while ago in my analysis of the Angular roadmap, one of the goals of the Angular team in recent months has been to reduce the size of the Angular backlog.

With Angular 11, the Angular team has triaged, reviewed their whole backlog (which is quite impressive), and resolved tons of issues.

Just over the last month, 341 issues have been closed:

--

--