Apple Watch Series 6 First Look

Apple new flagship smartwatch throws me for a Loop

Lance Ulanoff
The Startup

--

The new Apple Watch Series 6

Is it weird that my favorite thing about the new Apple Watch Series 6 is the new Solo Loop bands?

Don’t get me wrong, I’m already enjoying the new Apple Watch and my first experience with watchOS 7, but I’ve also had the device for less than 24 hours, not nearly enough time to assess subtle design changes or deeply experience the new features.

The Solo Loop band is the best watch band I’ve ever used

The Solo Loop ($49), however, is a constant physical reminder that this is probably how all Apple Watch bands should’ve been designed from the start. As promised, the liquid silicon bands are soft, stretchy, and insanely comfortable. I’m wearing size 6 (I have small wrists), but you’ll have nine options to choose from. I also wore the woven yarn-like textile loop bands and found them almost just as comfortable.

One piece bands. Why didn’t Apple think of this before?

Now, why should we care so much about bands? One of the new features included in watchOS 7 is sleep tracking. That means you wear the Apple Watch…

--

--

Lance Ulanoff
The Startup

Tech expert, journalist, social media commentator, amateur cartoonist and robotics fan.