Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

ArcGIS Enterprise 10.6.1 — A Practical Guide to Deployment on Windows Server

Installing ArcGIS Enterprise from A to Z on Windows Server.

Oren Cohen
The Startup
Published in
10 min readJul 1, 2019

--

I have been dealing with so many inaccuracies, misunderstandings, and mistakes deploying ArcGIS Enterprise on our server, and I have not found on the internet one comprehensive yet clear guide to installing it. I took it upon myself to create one such guide in the hopes that those who do get stuck will know how to pull through. Hopefully, by the end of this article, you will be able to deploy your server without any difficulty.

Prerequisites

  • You’re deploying a single instance of ArcGIS Enterprise version 10.6.1.
  • You’re doing so on AWS, using a Windows Server instance.
  • You already have all of your License keys from my.esri.com.

Deployment on AWS

The Easy part is to deploy a Windows machine on AWS. I highly recommend an m4.2xlarge type instance with 32GB of RAM. Using only 16GB of RAM is possible too but may present performance problems if you have many layers and services as I do.

You can find an AMI for ArcGIS Enterprise 10.6.1 on Windows right here. Also, make sure to compare the instance prices between availability…

--

--