Are Smartphones Becoming Obsolete?

Richard K. Yu
The Startup
Published in
6 min readMar 1, 2018

--

The market for smartphones is showing possible signs for senescence after a decade.

I’ve had my iPhone for the past five or six years now, I think, and it still works fine. I can tell its age because it’s one of the versions that doesn’t look like the models that Samsung produces — if you remember the more rectangular, blocky one version of the iPhone.

To be honest, I haven’t been keeping up with the newest iPhone trends either. I hear there’s an iPhone X or something now and I guess they’ve ditched the numbering system for the latest iteration of their product.

But one of the fundamental things about iPhones and smartphones in general, I think, is that there really has not been much change regarding their functionality in the past three or four years.

Nothing as revolutionary or as hard-hitting as the touch screen or a portable version of the Internet, when it was first introduced, has manifested again for any major smartphone company in my opinion.

I think it’s a common opinion too. A very recent piece published in the Wall Street Journal by journalists Timothy Martin and Drew FitzGerald spells out the issue pretty clearly:

The smartphone industry has a culprit to blame for slumping sales: Its old devices…

--

--