Are You Starting a Project or a Business?

The steep path to becoming a successful entrepreneur

David O.
The Startup
Published in
4 min readDec 11, 2018

--

Photo by Phi Hùng Nguyễn on Unsplash

We live in an age where successful entrepreneurs are rock stars. Many people want to jump in because of this glory they see the successful entrepreneurs glaced with. I was taken in by the celebration of entrepreneurial success too. I read a number of the success stories and got kind of convinced that it is what I wanted to do. But the reality was that I still had so much to learn.

After a while, failure intrigued me. I wanted to understand why those who failed did. This is because I discovered that the science of failure was much stronger than success. Success had no pattern. Study the stories of success and you hardly can find one unifying factor in every of the story. However, failure was more precise.

Failure is always preceded by a critical negligence. Most of the time, it’s in the perception of the business or venture. Every entrepreneur calls their venture a business, but I see a subtle difference that can help entrepreneurs make a better judgment, especially startup entrepreneurs. This is in the definition of the venture on their hands.

A business is a venture with paying customers and clients, that adds value to people or organizations in a…

--

--

David O.
The Startup

I investigate things and write about them. Mostly around wealth, money, rich people, career, and business success. Not financial advice