The Art of Sketchnoting

Getting Started with Visual Thinking

Margaret Maynard-Reid
The Startup

--

Image by the author

Sketchnoting is a fun way to take notes with visual thinking. Using sketchnotes to summarize and visualize complex topics such as ML research papers, online courses or tech talks has greatly helped me to better understand / remember the topics, and share my knowledge with others.

What I love the most about sketchnoting is that it increases both my productivity and creativity. You may sketchnote just about anything: research papers, conference talks, classes, trips, some random thoughts or ideas.

In this post, I will share with you how I got started with Sketchnoting, basics on sketching, digital tools I played with, and how to improve handwriting.

How I got started

Inspired by friends Chiu-Ki Chan, Virginia Poltrack and Corey Latislaw, I created my very first sketchnotes at Google I/O 2016.

My earlier sketchnotes were created with pencils, pens and the wonderful Copic markers on plain paper. Last year I moved into digital sketchnoting and I’m…

--

--

Margaret Maynard-Reid
The Startup

ML GDE (Google Developer Expert) | AI, Art & Design | 3D Fashion Designer