Battle Royale (with Cheese): Samsung Galaxy Buds Live Vs AirPods

Beans vs Buds

Joshua Beck
The Startup

--

I said in my last Battle Royale involving headphones that I was very interested in the new Samsung “bean” earbuds, and I wasn’t kidding. After seeing a couple of reviews, I decided that I had to try them out for myself.

Of course, these aren’t my first true-wireless headphones. They aren’t even my third pair. I’ve owned two pairs of standard AirPods, the AirPods Pro, and a cheap pair of JLab Go Air headphones. And if you read my last Battle Royale, you’ll know that I find a way to use them all fairly regularly.

I prefer the AirPods as a travel pair of earbuds for my phone, while the AirPods Pro I like to use when I need to block out noise- when I’m working at home, or cutting the grass. And I like to use the JLab headphones with my computer because I hate switching Bluetooth headphones between devices.

I’m also not a huge fan of in-ear headphones. After a while, they always seem to make my ears ache, and some of them- like the BeatsX- just feel like they are shoved so deep into my ears that they are tickling my brain. That’s why I’ve gravitated towards headphones like the regular AirPods and Google’s USB-C earbuds that sit in your ears but don’t have rubber or hard plastic inserts into your ear canal.

--

--